top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

A month in Denmark

That's just crazy... already a month

Since the school here starts way earlier than in Estonia, I've already gone to school for 2 weeks. My first day at school was really dejligt. First we had a meeting with all the other exchange students. The fact that surprised me was that there's 11 udvekslingselever including me from all different parts of the world!! After the meeting I met with my contact persons from the class. Sheba og Sara, jeg elsker I <3 We had lunch and they told me that the class is excited to see me. They were sitting just next table and we switched some eye contacts and some even waved. It made me even more excited and curious! So then we went to the classroom, the teacher welcomed me to the class, I made a quick presentation about myself and Estonia and they asked me some questions. My class is super kind, lovely and close with each other. During the short amount of time, you've already made me feel like a part of your class, mange tak!

After the school, the same day we went to morfar's fødselsdag, which was a splendid way to end the first school day. (At the restaurant the table next to us asked me whether I come from the US or Canada...!? still don't get it how they came to that thought)

Most of the studying takes place in computers which I find really convenient. I'm taking part in English, Danish, German, Social Studies, History, Maths, Biology, Sports and Design. Especially excited about the last one. I actually had my first design course today and it was really inspiring!

As I’m in the Social Studies&languages class, our class is going to Copenhagen for a political study trip soon. Couldn’t be more excited! :)

I've already seen most of my host-family, got my first invitation to a classmate's birthday, got some invitations to other classmates' homes(as I've understood, here in Denmark it's traditional to rather meet and hang out in each other's homes than f.e. in the town, cafe etc.) I’ve gone running and swimming many times, had a small talk in the shop without switching to English(over this one I'm quite proud bcs usually Danes speak so fast, for me right now most of it is just mumbling) and I've also had really inspiring conversations with different people from different ages. 

I think I'm actually reaching to that morning person stadium who's waking up earlier. I've got time to eat a nutritious breakfast, have a chat with my family before everybody's going to school/work and besides everything else I don't feel like I'm that tired... even though on everyday basis I feel so many new experiences and emotions. Or maybe the real hit of tiredness still comes.. but, so far so good.

So, everybody's saying that Denmark's pretty flat, well I wouldn't agree. Maybe yeah, most of the scenery, but in my area I wouldn't say that. I’ve been told that this part of the whole country may be the hilliest :D Especially I feel it when cycling to school and back home 11km in total everyday, which though is a really effective way of working out. I've also started to run more. Next to my home there's a forest and a fjord. So comparing to Estonia when I sometimes went for a run in the city centre where there was a lot more traffic, it's just perfect to run here. and heey, people here are actually smiling to you and sometimes even saying hej. I don't think I've ever experienced that in Tallinn.

One day after school we went to downtown with Hemma and Sara to a fabric store and I got a compliment from the shop's salesperson because of my dress. And why I'm mentioning that is, because due to the stereotype that Danes may be slightly cold and distant, in most of the cases, is not true AT ALL. My advice: don't ever take stereotypes seriously ;)

Overall, I can proudly say that I've created some new routines and settled in to a new chapter in my life. I appreciate it a lot where I'm right now with my life and looking forward to any kind of new experiences!

Vi ses

Anette

From left: Sheba, Sara, Mikkeline og jeg :)

bottom of page